Friday 12th May 20:15 - Nieuwe Kerk (New Church)

Joseph Haydn - from the piano trio in G major: Finale - Rondo allí Ungherese
Philippe Hersant - 11 caprices pour deux violons (based on texts of Kafka and composed for Philippe Graffin)
Maurice Ravel - piano trio in A minor
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - From the piano sonata KV 331 in A major: Rondo alla Turka
Bela Bartók - Selection from 44 duos for 2 violins
György Ligeti - String quartet nr. 1 Métamorphoses Nocturnes (1953/54)
Johannes Brahms - From the piano quartet opus 25 in G minor: Rondo alla Zingarese

Artistic leader Eva Stegeman has assembled a program of chamber music by composers who have an open outlook on life. Especially for this occasion she invited 4 top musicians from over the border, two of them new to this festival. Hannah Strijbos graduated with distinction from the Amsterdam Conservatory in 2011. She also studied in Paris at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique. She now lives in London. Recently, she won the audition for solo-viola player in the Residentie Orchestra. Violinist Philippe Graffin belongs to the absolute world top and is a welcome guest at chamber music festivals. He plays on his 18th-century instrument old music just as easily as music by contemporary composers. Since his discovery by Yehudi Menuhin he has played in renowned groups and orchestras throughout Europe. He has several pioneering recordings to his name.

The composers have one thing in common: they found inspiration in folk music, also in exotic elements from across the border. For example, Haydn lets us hear gypsy music in his piano trio which has become known as the Gypsy. BartÛk travelled through Hungary, the Danube countries and Turkey in search of real folk music. 

Although Ravel came from the Basque Country, it is only in the piano trio of the almost 40-year old composer where a first indication of his roots can be found. Basque rhythms are (in the scherzo) combined with a form based on Malayan poetry: the Pantun. Ligeti, in his turn, looks at his compatriot Bartok and wrote in 1956 - just before he fled from Hungary - his masterly string quartet MÈtamorphoses Nocturnes. The first performance, in 1958, took place in Vienna by the Ramon quartet, who were also exiled from Hungary

Philippe Graffin > violin
Eva Stegeman > violin
Hannah Strijbos > viola
Ursula Smith > cello
Florent Boffard > piano
Elsbet Remijn> narrator (in Dutch)

Normal €30,- | Ooievaarspas and youngsters up to and inclusive 27 years old €12,-